+61 2 4924 8000   myRDN login


Rural Resident Medical Officer Cadetships

Rural Doctors Network (RDN), on behalf of the NSW Ministry of Health, is offering cadetships to medical students interested in undertaking a medical career in rural NSW. 

There are two types of cadetships. This page outlines the NSW Rural Resident Medical Officer Cadetship. Learn more about the Rural Resident Medical Officer Cadetships for Indigenous Medical Students here


Jump to:


About the Rural Resident Medical Officer Cadetship

Successful applicants receive up to $15,000 per year for the final two years of their medical degree. In return, they agree to undertake two of the first three years of their hospital training in an eligible rural NSW hospital.

Cadets in their final year of study apply for an intern position through the Rural Preferential Recruitment (RPR) process or Aboriginal Medical Workforce pathway administered by the Health, Education and Training Institute (HETI).

Rural service can be undertaken in major NSW hospitals west of the Great Dividing Range including Tamworth, Dubbo, Orange, Wagga Wagga and Albury.

Please note that:

  • coastal NSW locations are not considered eligible for rural service
  • students not honouring their commitment to undertake rural placements will be required to pay back all money granted to them.


What are the benefits of a cadetship?

Successful applicants receive:

  • $15,000 per year for the final two years of their medical degree
  • a relocation grant when moving to a rural location
  • subsidised attendance at RDN conferences
  • subsidised attendance at the annual RDN cadet weekend at one of the locations for rural service
  • mentoring and support through RDN.

Back to top


Who is eligible?

  • Medical students studying in NSW.
  • Medical students studying interstate or in New Zealand who completed Year 12 in NSW.

Applicants from NSW universities must be enrolled in:

  • second year medicine at Macquarie University, the University of Sydney, Wollongong or Notre Dame; or
  • third year medicine at Western Sydney University, the University of Newcastle or New England, Charles Sturt University; or
  • fourth year medicine at the University of NSW.

Applicants from interstate or New Zealand universities must be enrolled in their third last year of a medical degree.

Cadetship recipients are unable to hold a RAMUS or MRBS at the same time.

Bonded Medical Place (BMP) students are eligible to apply.

Applicants must be Australian or New Zealand citizens or permanent residents of Australia.

Back to top


How to Apply

Applications for the Rural Resident Medical Officer Cadetships are now closed.

Further information about the program can be found in the Program Guidelines.

Back to top


More information for students:

Email students@nswrdn.com.au if you would like any more help learning about the exciting opportunities of a rural health career.

Follow us on InstagramFacebook or Twitter.  

To receive information about events, programs and scholarships for students, subscribe to RDN's mailing list and select "Student Opportunities" as an interest: