+61 2 4924 8000   myRDN login


RDN CEO announced as Chair of new Ministerial Advisory Panel

5th September 2022

NSW Rural Doctors Network (RDN) welcomes the announcement from NSW Minister for Regional Health, Bronnie Taylor, that a Ministerial Advisory Panel will be established as part of the Government’s response to the Regional Health Inquiry.


The panel will be chaired by RDN CEO, Richard Colbran, and will advise the Minister for Regional Health, the Secretary of NSW Health and the Coordinator-General of the Regional Health Division on opportunities and solutions to improve healthcare, hospital and support services in regional NSW.

Mr Colbran said he is looking forward to working with the other members of the advisory panel.

 “Access to high-quality and sustained health care is a fundamental human right; enhancing rural health is important work," he said.

"We must have rural communities at the centre of our decision-making. We need everyone working together because thriving rural communities are key to Australia's future".

NSW Minister for Regional Health, Bronnie Taylor will work closely with the panel to create a new regional health plan which will be released later this year.

“A key focus of the panel will be to identify and outline a broader vision and action plan for strengthening the rural and regional health system in NSW,” Mrs Taylor said.

“It is my absolute priority to ensure that, no matter where you live in our state, you have access to the health services that you need and deserve. Mr Colbran is a respected leader who, along with his fellow panel members, will play an integral role in the NSW Government’s work to improve health outcomes for people across rural and regional NSW,” she said.

Joining Mr Colbran on the Ministerial Advisory Panel are:

  • Ms Anna Barwick
  • Ms Karen Booth
  • Mrs Jo Caldwell
  • Ms Leone Crayden
  • Cr Rick Firman OAM
  • Mrs Louise Fox
  • Ms Laura Hand-Ross
  • Dr Warren Kealy-Batemean
  • Cr Ken Keith
  • Professor Jennifer May
  • Mrs Georgina Rosee
  • Dr Ayman Shenouda
  • Ms Meg Austin
  • Dr Anna Windsor

<< Previous | Next >>