+61 2 4924 8000   myRDN login


Rural Resident Medical Officer Cadetships

NSW Rural Doctors Network (RDN), on behalf of the NSW Ministry of Health, is offering cadetships to medical students interested in undertaking a medical career in rural NSW. 

There are two types of cadetships. This page outlines the NSW Rural Resident Medical Officer Cadetship. Learn more about the Rural Resident Medical Officer Cadetships for Indigenous Medical Students here


Jump to:


About the Rural Resident Medical Officer Cadetship

Successful applicants receive up to $15,000 per year for the final two years of their medical degree. In return, they agree to undertake two of the first three years of their hospital training in an eligible rural NSW hospital.

Cadets in their final year of study apply for an intern position through the Rural Preferential Recruitment (RPR) process or Aboriginal Medical Workforce pathway administered by the Health, Education and Training Institute (HETI).

Rural service can be undertaken in major NSW hospitals west of the Great Dividing Range including Tamworth, Dubbo, Orange, Wagga Wagga and Albury.

Please note that:

  • coastal NSW locations are not considered eligible for rural service
  • students not honouring their commitment to undertake rural placements will be required to pay back all money granted to them.



What are the benefits of a cadetship?

Successful applicants receive:

  • $15,000 per year for the final two years of their medical degree
  • a relocation grant when moving to a rural location
  • subsidised attendance at RDN conferences
  • subsidised attendance at the annual RDN cadet weekend at one of the locations for rural service
  • mentoring and support through RDN.

Back to top


Who is eligible?

  • Medical students studying in NSW.
  • Medical students studying interstate or in New Zealand who completed Year 12 in NSW.

Applicants from NSW universities must be enrolled in:

  • second year medicine at Macquarie University, the University of Sydney, Wollongong or Notre Dame; or
  • third year medicine at Western Sydney University, the University of Newcastle or New England, Charles Sturt University; or
  • fourth year medicine at the University of NSW.

Applicants from interstate or New Zealand universities must be enrolled in their third last year of a medical degree.

Cadetship recipients are unable to hold a RAMUS or MRBS at the same time.

Bonded Medical Place (BMP) students are eligible to apply.

Applicants must be Australian or New Zealand citizens or permanent residents of Australia.

Back to top


Apply now

Applications are now closed.


Find out more

Email students@nswrdn.com.au for more information. 

Subscribe here to receive scholarship information, RDN updates and information about opportunities to experience rural health. 


* indicates required


By clicking subscribe you consent to receive information and updates about NSW Rural Doctors Network, via email. RDN uses Mailchimp to send these emails to you. By clicking submit, you also acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices: www.mailchimp.com/legal/privacy/

You can unsubscribe at any time here or by clicking on the link in the footer of the emails. You can also call RDN on 02 4924 8000. For information about RDN’s privacy practices, please view the privacy information page: www.nswrdn.com.au/disclaimer

Back to top