02 4924 8000   myRDN login


Rural Medical Service Award

Each year the Rural Medical Service Award acknowledges rural doctors who have achieved long-standing medical service to remote, rural and regional communities in NSW.

The service can be cumulative or consecutive and GPs who are currently practising or have been working for 35 or more years in rural NSW (MMM2-7) are eligible.


Nominations are now closed

Nominations for the 2019 Rural Medical Service Award have now closed. Thank you to all who nominated themselves or a fellow long-standing doctor.


2019 recipients of the Rural Medical Service Award

In 2019, 20 GPs received the prestigious Rural Medical Service Award, with 12 recipients accepting their award at the annual Rural GPs Conference Dinner at the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, Manly. 

Awardee group shot


L-R top row: Dr Andrew Terrey from Grafton, Dr Rick Aitken from Moss Vale and Bundanoon, Dr John Brown from Narooma, Dr Maxine Percival from Maclean, Dr Noel Morrison from Ballina. 

L-R bottom row: Dr Geraldine Duncan from Wagga Wagga, Dr Susanne Storrier from Goulburn,Catherine Falk accepting the award on behalf of the late Dr Paul Falk from Goulburn, Dr David Malikoff from Port Macquarie, Dr Peter Searson from Port Macquarie, Dr Joseph McMahon from Port Macquarie, and Dr Phillipa Gibian from Glenorie. 

Not pictured: Dr John Bradshaw from Grafton, Dr David Goldberg from Vincentia, Dr Else De Wit from Lavington, Dr Christopher Greenway from Ballina, Dr Joseph Hall from Inverell, Dr Adrian Kay from Albury, Dr Nigel Bacon from Grafton.      


Dr McMahon profile

Dr Joseph McMahon, 2019 recipient of the Rural Medical Service Award


Award recipient Dr Joseph McMahon has achieved 38 years of medical service to the community of Port Macquarie. Since 1981 Dr McMahon has practised at Port Family Practice, Port Macquarie with fellow 2019 Rural Medical Service Award recipient, Dr David Malikoff. 

Dr McMahon studied at Sydney University and holds a Diploma in Obstetrics. Dr McMahon notes his achievements as performing obstetric deliveries and practising anaesthetic work at a day surgery centre. 




Dr Maxine Percival, 2019 recipient of the Rural Medical Service Award

Dr Percival profile

Award recipient Dr Maxine Percival has achieved 35 years of medical service for several communities. 


She practised at Tamworth Based Hospital between 1981 and 1984, at Moree Medical Centre between 1985 and 2012, and continues to practise at Maclean Medical Centre since 2013. Dr Percival has represented RDN, Rural Doctors Association of Australia (RDAA) and Rural and Remote Medical Services (RaRMS) in various Board and executive positions, and in 2009 was awarded Westpac RDAA rural doctor of the year.


She feels privledged to have worked in Moree for 28 years with great rural doctors and mentors.


Find out more

To find out more email enquiries@nswrdn.com.au or call 02 4924 8000.