+61 2 4924 8000   myRDN login


Rural Medical Service Award

Rural medical service award

2020 Rural Medical Service Award

Each year, NSW Rural Doctors Network (RDN) recognises General Practitioners (GPs) who have provided long-standing medical service to remote, rural and regional NSW.

As we all know, 2020 has been a difficult year. Drought, bushfires, and a global pandemic have put enormous strain on our rural communities and the primary health care professionals who look after them. We take this opportunity to thank all our health professionals for their hard work and dedication, not only this year, but throughout their careers.

For those who have reached the impressive milestone of 35+ years service, we acknowledge you for the long-standing contributions you have made to your communities. The Rural Medical Service Award honours GPs who have spent the past 35 years or more providing exceptional health care to the people of remote, rural and regional NSW. The service can be cumulative or consecutive, and GPs who are currently practising or have been working for 35 or more years in rural NSW (RA2-5 or MMM2-7) are eligible. 

Nominations for the 2020 Rural Medical Service Award are now closed. RDN will be in contact with nominees shortly.



The 2020 Award presentation

Typically, the Rural Medical Service Awards are presented during RDN’s annual Rural GPs Conference dinner. This year, the Awards presentation and the Conference are being delivered digitally, as part of RH20a month of education and networking events for the rural health community.

The Awards will be presented in a virtual ceremony on Saturday 14 November. Further details will be provided closer to the event.

We understand an integral component to the Award is the opportunity to gather with your peers, family and friends at the Conference dinner. We hope to be able to present the Conference dinner and Award ceremony as usual again in 2021, and in this case, we will invite all 2020 recipients to attend the dinner and be celebrated in person.


2019 recipients of the Rural Medical Service Award

In 2019, 20 GPs received the prestigious Rural Medical Service Award, with 12 recipients accepting their award at the annual Rural GPs Conference Dinner at the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, Manly. 

Awardee group shot


L-R top row: Dr Andrew Terrey from Grafton, Dr Rick Aitken from Moss Vale and Bundanoon, Dr John Brown from Narooma, Dr Maxine Percival from Maclean, Dr Noel Morrison from Ballina. 

L-R bottom row: Dr Geraldine Duncan from Wagga Wagga, Dr Susanne Storrier from Goulburn,Catherine Falk accepting the award on behalf of the late Dr Paul Falk from Goulburn, Dr David Malikoff from Port Macquarie, Dr Peter Searson from Port Macquarie, Dr Joseph McMahon from Port Macquarie, and Dr Phillipa Gibian from Glenorie. 

Not pictured: Dr John Bradshaw from Grafton, Dr David Goldberg from Vincentia, Dr Else De Wit from Lavington, Dr Christopher Greenway from Ballina, Dr Joseph Hall from Inverell, Dr Adrian Kay from Albury, Dr Nigel Bacon from Grafton.      


Find out more

To find out more email enquiries@nswrdn.com.au or call 02 4924 8000.